Email or Text Teams

Created on:
Updated on:

Send a scheduling email or text from a plan to notify people of the details about that plan.

In Services web, Schedulers can only email people on teams that they lead. This restriction has not yet been implemented in the Services mobile app.

From one of the Teams tabs, tap the envelope icon.

Teams screen

An envelope icon next to someone's name means some people in that team still have a prepared notification and haven't been emailed about the plan at all.

Choose Who to Email

In Recipients, you can choose who to send the email or text to.

  • Prepared Notifications emails only people with prepared notifications.
  • Scheduled People emails people any people scheduled to the plan.
  • Needed Signups emails people assigned to any needed positions with Signup Sheets.
Recipients

Choose which teams, statuses, and times (for split teams) to email.

Recipients

Tap People Selected if you want to adjust the list of people to email, and click Compose when you are ready to compose the message.

Recipients

Once you've chosen who to message, tap Next at the top of the screen.

Compose the Message

Select either the Email or Text tab, depending on what type of message you want to send.

Email

Choose a template, and then tap the message area to open the keyboard and compose your message.

When you've verified that the recipients are correct, tap the Send icon.

Send Email

When you send the email, each tag enclosed in {{ }} is replaced with the appropriate content for the person receiving the email. Edit your personal signature from the web in the Details tab on your profile.

The email will include:

  • Buttons to accept or decline only for people who are unconfirmed. Confirmed people do not see these buttons.
  • All times the person is assigned to.
  • A link to view the plan.

Text

Compose and send your text.

Send Text
  1. Add mobile numbers for people who don't have them.
  2. Enter the text message.
  3. If you include the phone reference, the name and last four digits of a person's phone number will show in the text so people will know who is replying to the thread.
  4. When you tap to send a text, you're taken to your device's preferred text messaging app to actually send the message. Any follow up to your text will take place within that app, outside of Planning Center.

The texting feature in Services Mobile is subject to all mobile carrier bulk texting limitations, including the number of recipients you can send to. If you've prepared a message in Services for more than the allotted carrier limitation, be aware that not all volunteers will receive the text message.

After you've sent scheduling emails or texts, the envelope icon by team members name will be removed and they will be able to see the plan.

Was this article helpful?
10 out of 16 found this helpful